Job Chapters 38 to 40

GOOD NEWS Y’ALL! GOD TALKS IN THESE CHAPTERS! HE will set the record straight!

So lets talk about the setting! There is a storm surrounding Job and his “friends” when all of a sudden GOD speaks to Job out of the storm! Can you imagine? This voice yelling down to you, and it being the most GLORIOUS GOD EVER!?!?! I know that I cannot imagine! God yells out, “Who is this that obscures my plans with words without knowledge? Brace yourself like a man; I will question you, and you shall answer me,” Job 38:2-3. Now that is intimidating! I know Job was wide eyed with fear when he heard God speaking to him; I would be wide eyed hearing God speaking out loud at all! God then explains how Job has nothing on Him pretty much, because God has control over every aspects of His creations. He pretty much points out to Job that he is not that awesome or righteous, especially in comparison to Himself. He questions Job of whether or not he can perform certain actions that He can perform, “Can you bring forth the constellations in their seasons or lead out the bear with its cubs?” Job 38:32. God just wants to make Job feel humble, and He is definitely doing a good job!

Chapter 39 shows how God defends his creation and supports his creation by explaining how He interacts with the animal kingdom. God is in control of the grandeur and strength of all creatures – whether human or animal. He has so much power and so much love for His creation and He wants His creation to honor Him for it! God just gives example after example of how much love He has.

God then calls out Job again, “Will the one who contends with the Almighty correct him? Let him who accuses God answer him!” Job 40:2. Job answers God back with, “I am unworthy – how can I reply to you? I put my hand over my mouth,” Job 40:4. God pretty much tells Job that he better answer Him, and that he needs to act like a man. No joke God said, “Brace yourself like a man,” Job 40:7a. God says how Job has condemned Him by saying that he felt wronged by Him and that He had refused him justice. God just keeps telling Job, that Job is not Him; therefore, why is he questioning Him? God is just pointing out all His glory and how Job has not fully accepted it yet!

Tomorrow will be the last post for the book of Job, because I will summarize the final two chapters! I cannot wait to see how God and Job’s encounter finishes. I know for a fact that God will be the most glorified by the end!

Leave a Reply

